Children and Young People

Children’s Art Club
Ages 7 to 11 years

Focal Point Gallery's Children’s Art Club forms an introduction to the artists and exhibitions in the organisation’s rolling programme, and helps participants engage in practical workshops within the exhibition spaces. In these events, children try out new skills, explore materials, and develop their critical abilities in an encouraging and open atmosphere.

Each short course takes place on Saturday mornings, by continued commitment children will have the the opportunity of undertaking Discover and Explore Arts Awards.

Focal Point Gallery is a centre for the nationally recognised Arts Award (please see www.artsaward.org.uk for more information). Discover, Explore, Bronze, Silver and Gold awards can be obtained by participating in one of our series of out of school workshops.

Children’s Art Club
Ages 7 to 11 years
Next Art Club dates:

Saturday 16 April
Saturday 23 April
Saturday 30 April
Saturday 7 May
Saturday 14 May
Saturday 21 May
Saturday 11 June
Saturday 18 June
Saturday 25 June
Saturday 2 July

All sessions run 10.30am to 12.30pm. £7 per session or £63 for ten. Siblings and Advantage Card holders, £5 each per session. Price includes all materials. Booking with payment is required to secure a place.

Young Artists After School Club
Ages 11 to 18 years
Silver Arts Award session dates:

Wednesday 7 October
Wednesday 14 October
Wednesday 21 October
Wednesday 4 November
Wednesday 11 November
Wednesday 18 November
Wednesday 25 November
Wednesday 2 December
Wednesday 9 December
Wednesday 16 December
Wednesday 06 January
Wednesday 13 January
Wednesday 20 January
Wednesday 27 January
Wednesday 3 February
Wednesday 10 February
Wednesday 24 February
Wednesday 2 March
Wednesday 9 March
Wednesday 16 March
Wednesday 23 March
Wednesday 13 April
Wednesday 20 April
Wednesday 27 April
'In Between Titles'
Group exhibition
Wednesday 4 May
Wednesday 11 May
Wednesday 18 May
Wednesday 25 May
Wednesday 8 June
Wednesday 15 June

All sessions run 4.00pm to 6.00pm. Funded places. Certification and moderation cost £35. This course is full. Next Silver Arts Award will commence Autumn 2016.

Young Artists After School Club
Ages 11 to 18 years
Bronze Arts Award session dates:

Thursday 07 January
Thursday 14 January
Thursday 21 January
Thursday 28 January
Thursday 4 February
Thursday 11 February
Thursday 25 February
Thursday 3 March
Thursday 10 March
Thursday 17 March
Thursday 24 March
Thursday 14 April
Thursday 21 April
Thursday 28 April
Thursday 5 May
Thursday 12 May
Thursday 19 May
Thursday 26 May
Thursday 9 June
Thursday 16 June

All sessions run 4.00pm to 6.00pm. Funded places. Certification and moderation cost £35. Spaces available. Booking required.

For further information, or to book a schools workshop, gallery tour or a place on one of our art clubs, please contact Sharon Byrne on 01702 534148, or email sharonbyrne@southend.gov.uk